Controlled Substances Course Requirement

 
Controlled Substances graphic
   
Useful Links
 

General Information

According to a 2017 report by the Florida Department of Law Enforcement (FDLE), opioids were identified as either the cause of death or were present in the decedent’s system in 5,725 cases in 2016, an increase of 26% over the previous year.

During the 2018 Florida Legislative Session, the Florida Legislature passed opioid reform legislation that will have a significant impact on the practice of medicine in regards to controlled substance prescribing. HB 21 - Controlled Substances went into effect on July 1, 2018.

The legislation has several requirements as described below:

  1. A prescriber must consult the Prescription Drug Monitoring Program (PDMP) [E-FORCSE, Florida's Prescription Drug Monitoring Program] to review a patient’s controlled substance dispensing history before prescribing a controlled substance for a patient aged 16 or older.
  2. A prescription for an opioid drug may not exceed a 3-day supply (7 days if the provider feels it is medically necessary). If a 7-day supply is prescribed, the provider must indicate “ACUTE PAIN EXCEPTION” on the prescription and adequately document the patient’s medical records with the acute medical condition and lack of alternative treatment options. For the treatment of non-acute pain, the prescriber must indicate “NONACUTE PAIN” on a prescription for an opioid drug.
  3. Any practitioner registered with the U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) and authorized to prescribe controlled substances is required to complete a 2-hour, board-approved course on prescribing controlled substances by January 31, 2019 and for each subsequent license renewal thereafter.

FPMA advises members to avoid attending continuing education courses on prescribing controlled substances that are not offered by a statewide professional association of physicians accredited to provide educational activities and are not approved by the Florida Board of Podiatric Medicine.

As of May 11, 2018, a two-hour online course entitled "Prescribing Controlled Substances" was made available to FPMA members. This course, provided by the Florida Osteopathic Medical Association (FOMA) and approved by CE Broker, satisfies the two-hour course requirement for Podiatric Physicians licensed in Florida that hold a DEA license. FPMA members can take the course at the discounted rate of $50.00 by using an FPMA Discount Code (contact the FPMA office to request the code) when submitting payment for the course. Once the discount code is entered and applied, the course should reflect the member price, at which point you can proceed with the credit card portion of the payment. All FPMA members who successfully complete the two-hour online course provided by FOMA will have their CECH reported to CE Broker on their behalf.

Click HERE to access the Prescribing Controlled Substances course.