X-Ray Assistant Recertification
Click here to download an application and details about the
Podiatric X-Ray Assistant Home Study recertification course.
Notice to Podiatric X-ray Assistants
Certified by the Board of Podiatric Medicine
You hold certificates issued by the Department of Health Board of Podiatric Medicine, which begin with a "PXA" prefix.
You are on the same biennial renewal cycle as the Podiatric Physicians. During this two year period, you must obtain 8 hours of continuing education, which includes the 2-hour mandatory Medical Errors course. You may use this home study course for two bienniums (4 years). However, during the ensuing biennium (the third biennium), you must physically attend the program that is offered during our Science & Management Symposium (SAM). After that, you may again use the home study program for two bienniums (4 years) – and so forth.
The Department of Health Board of Podiatric Medicine mails out renewal applications to both Podiatric Physicians and Podiatric X-ray Assistants during the months of November and December, prior to the end of the biennium. The current biennium is April 1, 2016 - March 31, 2018.
If you do not receive your application for recertification from the Department, you can:
1. Contact the Licensing Division at (850) 488-0595. Please do not call the Association. The Department of Health Board of Podiatric Medicine is the entity that issues this certification; the Association's role is to provide the course and test for both initial certification (upon passing, names are certified to the Department) and the course for recertification; or you can
2. Go to http://floridaspodiatricmedicine.gov/licensing/ for more information.
PLEASE NOTE: Those assistants certified by the Department of Health Bureau of Radiation Control (Bureau) are NOT included in this category and this home study course cannot be used by those X-ray Assistants for continuing education. Also, SAM (which is held during the month of January each year) no longer offers this course for renewal by those assistants certified by the Bureau of Radiation Control. Your continuing education will have to be obtained through other avenues. You can contact the Bureau at (850) 245-4266 to obtain information regarding continuing education programs that are approved by the Bureau.
We trust this information is helpful to you!
Important Information: New statute relating to Initial Licensure and Relicensure in the State of Florida - This statute applies to both Licensed DPMs and Podiatric X-Ray Assistants and those individuals who wish to become licensed in the State of Florida:
Section 456.0635, Florida Statutes
Important Notice for Initial Licensure Applicants and Renewals:
Effective July 1, 2012, Section 456.0635, Florida Statutes, provides that health care boards or the department shall refuse to issue a license, certificate or registration and shall refuse to admit a candidate for examination if the applicant:
- Has been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to, regardless of adjudication, a felony under Chapter 409, F.S., (relating to social and economic assistance), Chapter 817, F.S., (relating to fraudulent practices), Chapter 893, F.S., (relating to drug abuse prevention and control) or a similar felony offense(s) in another state or jurisdiction unless the candidate or applicant has successfully completed a drug court program for that felony and provides proof that the plea has been withdrawn or the charges have been dismissed.
Any such conviction or plea shall exclude the applicant or candidate from licensure, examination, certification, or registration, unless the sentence and any subsequent period of probation for such conviction or plea ended:
- For the felonies of the first or second degree, more than 15 years from the date of the plea, sentence and completion of any subsequent probation;
- For the felonies of the third degree, more than 10 years from the date of the plea, sentence and completion of any subsequent probation;
- For the felonies of the third degree under Section 893.13(6)(a), F.S., more than 5 years from the date of the plea, sentence and completion of any subsequent probation;
- Has been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to, regardless of adjudication, a felony under 21 U.S.C. ss. 801-970 (relating to controlled substances) or 42 U.S.C. ss. 1395-1396 (relating to public health, welfare, Medicare and Medicaid issues), unless the sentence and any subsequent period of probation for such conviction or pleas ended more than 15 years prior to the date of the application;
- Has been terminated for cause from the Florida Medicaid program pursuant to s. 409.913, F.S., unless the candidate or applicant has been in good standing with the Florida Medicaid program for the most recent 5 years;
- Has been terminated for cause, pursuant to the appeals procedures established by the state or from any other state Medicaid program, unless the candidate or applicant has been in good standing with a state Medicaid program for the most recent 5 years and the termination occurred at least 20 years before the date of the application;
- Is currently listed on the United States Department of Health and Human Services Office of Inspector General's List of Excluded Individuals and Entities.
NOTE: This section does not apply to candidates or applicants for initial licensure or certification who were enrolled in an educational or training program on or before July 1, 2009, which was recognized by a board or, if there is no board, recognized by the department, and who applied for licensure after July 1, 2012.